Aug
3rd

Weird Spam. Why?

Filed under Ranter/Humorist, Thinker | Posted by Saphrym

I’d expect it for things like Orlando vacations.1 But what in the world makes a spammer send an e-mail like this with no links:

stealthy honest saxony? spencerian, herewith anglicanism.
nabisco poisonous jovial gumdrop elsie cathedra, jovial
elsie carne cathedra bassi scarface.

inquisition stealthy thrombosis

elsie stealthy stipend? goliath, scarface mainland.
nabisco stipend puzzle scarface indignation cyclades, churchgo
puzzle honest immoral indignation goliath.

schelling bassi carne

jimmy saxony leeward? squibb, irreconcilable saxony.

pecan immoral.

I just don’t understand. Besides being funny in a twisted sort of way because of the nonsensical words and terms strung together, I just don’t see the benefit of sending an e-mail like that. I know it was probably a randomly created e-mail done by some computer software. But again, what’s the benefit?

If anyone out there knows, please feel free to let me know in the comments. I’m very curious. Of course, I’m also sharing this because I thought it sounded funny when I read it. Now to go mark it as spam. Also, share your favorite spam e-mails in the forums.

  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Mixx
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • TwitThis
  1. I’ve been to Orlando. Was actually quite fun. But I was 10 at the time. [«]

Related Posts:

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.


10 Responses to “Weird Spam. Why?”

  1. By Jason - GorillaSushi on Aug 3, 2008 | Reply to this comment

    If there were no attachments, maybe a 1×1 pixel image loading from a remote site? Viewing remote images can confirm that your email is a good and active one, opening the gate for a flood.


  2. By Saphrym on Aug 3, 2008 | Reply to this comment

    @Jason - GorillaSushi: Long time no see. I know. I know. Same for me too. ;) As for your suggestion, I hadn’t thought about that. Would be a good reason. So I checked the original e-mail as I use Google mail. There were no images embedded. The address it comes from is mozilla.org though. Wonder if it was meant as a way to get someone marked as spam. Hmmm.


  3. By Lady Rose on Aug 3, 2008 | Reply to this comment

    Perhaps it was written in a different language and then automatically translated to English… sure is odd. Wonder what kind of oddballs will find your blog now with the search engine hits now with all those strange phrases. :)


  4. By Saphrym on Aug 3, 2008 | Reply to this comment

    @Lady Rose: As long as they read my posts, I’m not too worried. ;)


  5. By Janna on Aug 8, 2008 | Reply to this comment

    Freshener styrofoam anxiety dropping? Along, plastic woodfiber extemporaneous, Dickensian frog highway! Knob. Earthly hangnail shoelace, roaming harbor.

    No! Wait!
    I’m not a spammer.
    I just always wanted to leave a comment like that.
    I can die happy now.

    Well, semi-happy.

    Most recent blog post from Janna: Friday thoughts


  6. By Saphrym on Aug 8, 2008 | Reply to this comment

    @Janna: LOL! Love it. Thanks for brightening my day.


  7. By SEO Programmer on Aug 12, 2008 | Reply to this comment

    This may be more interesting then it seems. Don’t you notice the patern in those e-mails.

    For example, the last line contains 2 words, the line before that contains 6 words.

    I just received 4 messages like these, all from difrent senders (not mozilla) targetted at a domain of mine that has catch all enabled (the alias is for example 46c33e04.1050031.

    Subject: extrema joanne schultz conklin continue

    pomegranate schultz kaplan? dante, drool dielectric.
    applejack monty hereof sequential continue sequential, stagnate
    continue cadet applejack stagnate goose.

    extrema omitted dante

    constraint applejack grater? vixen, conspiracy schultz.
    peterson bonn collocation kaplan dante receptive, collocation
    acetylene constraint hereof schultz equilateral.

    acetylene crises stagnate

    pedro rotary hereof? peterson, freckle difficult.

    jock expulsion.

    This must mean something, but what could it be? Might it be a encoded message for terrorists, or other groups that are among us all, but know personally by each other?


  8. By Saphrym on Aug 12, 2008 | Reply to this comment

    @SEO Programmer: Might be a coded message. But it tends to make me think it’s computer generated. Even without images it might be looking for e-mail addresses that don’t send “bad e-mail” messages back.


  9. By fragileheart on Aug 13, 2008 | Reply to this comment

    I see the secret message… can’t you ;P


  10. By Saphrym on Aug 13, 2008 | Reply to this comment

    @fragileheart: Oh. I see it now: “FragileHeart is a smarty pants.” Yep. There it is. ;)


Post a Comment